Check Out Our Vinyl!!!

Andy Winter ‎– Incomprehensible (*NEW-CD, 2013, The End Records) Prog Rock/Metal masterpiece

Regular price $11.99

Andy Winter ‎– Incomprehensible (*NEW-CD, 2013, The End Records) Prog Rock/Metal masterpiece                                           AW123019

Andy Winter has been behind several noteworthy releases in the more progressive and avant-garde spectrum of the Norwegian post-black metal scene. His style of subdued, classically influenced progressive metal is probably not quite what most people think of when they hear the words Norwegian and metal mentioned together, as his music features a far more classical and progressive influenced sound than the groups of his usual co-collaborators. Incomprehensible features Agnete M. Kirkevaag of Madder Mortem, John Haughm of Agalloch, Kjetil Nordhus of Tristania, Trail of Tears & Green Carnation, Dan Swanö of Nightingale & Bloodbath, Lars A. Nedland of Borknagar, Solefald & Age of Silence, Heidi S. Tveitan of Star of Ash & Peccatum, Paul Kuhr of Novembers Doom & Subterranean Masquerade, and Lars E. Si of Winds, Before the Dawn & Sensa Anima. Also appearing are Jan Axel von Blomberg (Mayhem, Arcturus & Winds), Carl August Tidemann (Winds & Arcturus), Øystein Moe (Winds & Ulver), Don Anderson (Agalloch & Sculptured) and Mike Young (The Devin Townsend Project). The album was produced by Andy Winter himself, mixed by Shaun Thingvold, mastered by Maor Appelbaum and features artwork by Travis Smith. Having continued his approach of always applying a very genre-defying style, Incomprehensible is yet another unmistakable and unique record from Andy Winter, and one that provides a different experience altogether when compared to anything else in metal, or indeed most music.

I knew I was in for a treat when I saw the opening cut was called “Reversed Psychological Patterns.” Incomprehensible, the latest CD by Andy Winter, is refered to by his label The End Records as “more progressive and avant-garde spectrum of the Norwegian post-black metal scene.”
Amen. This is some heavy stuff made for true musical connoisseurs, and perhaps a set of Bose® headphones.
Incomprehensible demands the listener listen to the CD in it’s entirety, kind of like a Quadrophinia for a new generation.
It’s obvious Andy and his gang put a lot of serious studio time into it from 2008 to 2012. One thing that keeps the sound so interesting is the diverse lineup of vocalists, simular to what Alan Parsons Project used to do, but much heavier. Because of so many people being involved touring becomes a luxury.
“Whenever an album comes out the first thing people want to know is if we are going to do shows around the world. We really want to, but it’s so difficult putting something like that together, especially considering the time we have to spend rehearsing for something like that,” Andy said.
Other stand out cuts are “Through the Eyes of a Surrealistic” and “Perfection is the Blank Page.”
Crazy, thought provoking stuff that shouldn’t be missed.

1 Reversed Psychological Patterns
Vocals – Agnete Kirkevåg
2 My Illusions Are My Own
Vocals – John Haughm
3 Perfection Is The Blank Page
Vocals – Kjetil Nordhus
4 Somewhere Else To Disappear
Vocals – Dan Swanö
5 Through The Eyes Of A Surrealist
Vocals – Lars Nedland
6 Far Beyond Autopilot
Vocals – Heidi Solberg Tveitan
7 The Transversal Conjecture
Vocals – Paul Kuhr
8 Back To Square Two
Vocals – Lars Eric Si