Check Out Our Vinyl!!!


Regular price $24.99

New but not sealed.....

Includes the Official Scrolls of the Megilloth 4 song demo recorded December 1991

1 Nocturnal 6:10
2 Terminate Damnation 6:19
3 Eternal Lamentation 6:30
4 Raise The Chalice 4:48
5 Lymphosarcoma 6:05
6 Scrolls Of The Megilloth 4:29
7 Death Requiem 5:11
8 Necromanicide 4:59
9 Inflamed 3:27
10 Ancient Prophesy 11:43
11 Terminate Damnation (demo)
12 Lymphosarcoma (demo)
13 Necromanicide (demo)
14 Scrolls Of The Megilloth (demo)

This is Mortification's second album which was originally released in August of 1992. It is their follow up to the 1991 self titled debut.

This disc contains full on death metal with hardly any thrash influences present and incorporates some grindcore and doom influences. This is considered by many fans as the band's best work and is certainly their heaviest material to date.

The album begins with night noises to create a rather dark and sort of eerie atmosphere. Then the faint sound of drums works its way in and gets progressively louder with each pounding beat which then leads into a sinister Drop D tuned riff. This is the opening track appropriately titled Nocturnal. The rest of the album flows very well with alot of nice tempo changes to keep the listening experience interesting. Steve Rowe utilizes a rather frightening grind baritone death growl that is double layered as well as being accompanied by shrieking background vocals from both Michael Carsile and Jayson Sherlock. Also Steve's bass playing prowess comes through very strong throughout the entire album as it is both clearly audible and skillful.

Michael Carlise's rhythm work is aggressively executed yet precise. In fact, enough to even make up for the lack of guitar solos on this album as he is more experienced as a rhythm genius instead of a lead player.

And of course you have the world renowned Jayson Sherlock behind the drum kit. His incredibly fast and accurate blast beats and double bass kicks are actually one of the highlights of this release as a whole. His remarkable changes in tempo are among the best this subgenre has to offer.

The production, although not stellar, still holds up pretty well for an early 90's death metal offering. My favorites are Nocturnal, Terminate Damnation, Eternal Lamentations, and Necromanicide. The album ends with an 11 minute mid tempo epic titled Ancient Prophecy which I think ends the album perfectly.

In conclusion, Scrolls of the Megilloth is a vital piece of extreme metal history in the realm of Christian metal as well as the secular scene. Get this if you enjoy good quality old school death metal whether you concur with their profound Christian beliefs or not.