Check Out Our Vinyl!!!

Probot ‎– Probot (*Used-CD, 2004, Southern Lord) Mainstream Skull crushing Thrash/Metal Supergroup

Regular price $8.00

Probot ‎– Probot  (*Used-CD, 2004, Southern Lord) Mainstream Thrash/Metal Supergroup

Well cared for

Probot - Probot (Southern Lord / Roswell Records, SUNN30) - EAN: 808720003024 - Probot was a heavy metal side project of ex-Nirvana drummer and Foo Fighters lead guitarist and lead-singer Dave Grohl. Described by Grohl as "a death metal Supernatural", the album mixes instrumentals recorded by Grohl himself with various metal singers which the musician idolized. The album was released in February 2004 by Southern Lord Records and featured one single entitled "Centuries Of Sin" / “The Emerald Law”.

Foo Fighters' Dave Grohl has always been an unabashed metalhead--Nirvana were heavily indebted to Black Sabbath. Now the multi-instrumentalist indulges his adolescent fantasies by inviting a slew of '80s underground metal vocalists to caterwaul their original lyrics set to a dozen Grohl-penned instrumentals. None of the results rival "Ace of Spades" or "Paranoid," but as vanity projects go Probot is a hell of a lot of skull-crushing fun. Remarkably diverse, too, from the doom-laden dirge "Ice Cold Man"--voiced by Lee Dorrian of Napalm Death--to the hardcore thrash of "Access Babylon," a collaboration with Mike Dean from Corrosion of Conformity. Mainstream music lovers will only recognize a couple of names, but the most distinctive turns come courtesy of cult artists, particularly D.R.I.'s Kurt Brecht and his blood vessel-bursting bellow on "Silent Spring," and the creepy Goth intonations of Tom G. Warrior (Apollyon Sun/Celtic Frost) on "Big Sky." --Kurt B. Reighley

1 Centuries Of Sin
Vocals, Bass – Cronos
2 Red War
Vocals – Max Cavalera
3 Shake Your Blood
Recorded By [Bass & Vocals] – Nick Raskulinecz
Vocals, Bass – Lemmy
4 Access Babylon
Guitar [Additional] – Bubba Dupree
Recorded By [Vocals] – John Custer
Vocals – Mike Dean (3)
5 Silent Spring
Vocals – Kurt Brecht
6 Ice Cold Man
Guitar [Additional] – Kim Thayil
Vocals – Lee Dorrian
7 The Emerald Law
Recorded By [Vocals] – Don Zientara
Vocals, Guitar [Lead] – Wino (2)
8 Big Sky
Guitar [Additional] – Erol Unala
Vocals – Tom Gabriel Fischer*
9 Dictatosaurus
Guitar [Additional] – Matt Sweeney
Vocals – Snake (6)
10 My Tortured Soul
Vocals – Eric Wagner
11a Sweet Dreams
Guitar [Additional] – Kim Thayil
Vocals – King Diamond (2)
11b I Am The Warlock
Vocals – Jack Black (2)