Check Out Our Vinyl!!!

SERVANT - ROCKIN REVIVAL (*NEW-CD, 2006, Retroactive Records)

Regular price $29.99

SERVANT - ROCKIN REVIVAL (*NEW-CD, 2006, Retroactive Records)

Very rare!  Almost gone!  

1 Look Out Babylon
2 Rockin' Revival
3 Isolated
4 Heidelberg Blues
5 Listen
6 Jealousies
7 Suburban Josaphine
8 Ad Man
9 I'm Gonna Live

According the Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music, Servant’s 1981 release ROCKIN’ REVIVAL was a huge step forward, adding the keyboard sounds of Matt Spransy for a richer, fuller sound. The band’s desire was to reach the ears and hearts of those who might not feel so comfortable in church buildings. As a result, their music shied away from self-centered, Jesus-and-me praise lyrics. They avoided easy rock styles that typified most CCM of the day. Instead, Servant championed edgy, passionate, driving rock music, with aggressive stage performances filled with a kingdom message spiced with strong social commentary. A young man named, Doug Pinnick would co-write “I’m Gonna Live,” which would garner significant radio play, and become a favorite of Christian music fans for years to come. Pinnick would eventually be best known as part of the mainstream hard rock trio, King’s X.