Orders will not ship from 7/19 to 7/28

SUPERSHINE - SUPERSHINE (*NEW-GOLDMAX CD, 2022, Brutal Planet Records) dUg Pinnick of King's X and Trouble's Bruce Franklin

Sale price $9.97 Regular price $21.97

***We strongly encourage you to purchase hassle-free low cost insurance for your order at checkout. It will cover your entire order against damage, not just this item. 


Brutal Planet Records - SUPERSHINE (GOLD DISC) - BPCD1609 - 637405141863
  • "Shinin' On" cover by Grand Funk Railroad (Don Brewer, Mark Farner)
  • Bass Guitar – Doug Pinnick (King's X)
  • Drums – Jeff Olson (Trouble), Jerry Gaskill (King's X)
  • Guitar – Bruce Franklin (Trouble)
  • Lead Vocals – Doug Pinnick (King's X)
  • Mixed By – Ty Tabor (King's X)
  • Organ [Hammond] – Wally Farkas (Galactic Cowboys)
  • Vocals – Bruce Franklin (Trouble)
  • Elite 2021 Remaster by Rob Colwell of Bombworks Sound
  • GoldMax CD to discourage disc rot and add beauty & elegance
  • Every CD comes with a deluxe gold foil-stamped Supershine collector card 
  • Expanded 12-page insert with lyrics and additional band pics
  • Gold Disc border on front cover - back of the booklet features the front cover with no Gold border around the outside edges


Supershine gives the listener the great lead vocals and unmistakable bass playing of Doug Pinnick with the hard rockin' guitar of Bruce Franklin. Overall Supershine is simpler and harder than typical King's X yet not as classic heavy/funky as Trouble. Supershine's musical stew includes many ingredients, but simplicity and roots rule the day. A cover of Grand Funk Railroad's "Shinin' On" provides the link to the past that Supershine so eloquently captures.    
Rough Edge Reviews

This record is amazing! The bass is mixed heavy (classic dUg), the guitars are rich and full, and the drummer doesn't show off! "Going Down","Shining On", and "I can't help you" are my favorites on here. "Going Down" so much so I looped the song over and over like I was crazy! Sabbath meets Alice in Chains with dUg's amazing and perfect vocal tone, approach, and lyrics. This album gives me "Dogman" vibes... ooh yeah.
Get it!
                              FAN REVIEWER

 If anyone was expecting to hear a Trouble meets King's X sound, they would be pleasantly surprised, because that is exactly what this cd delivers. Both band's sounds are accounted for, from the vocal harmonies and melody of King's X and Doug's powerhouse vocals to the unrelenting heaviness and signature guitar sound of Trouble.

dUg Pinnick is certainly no stranger to side projects. The King’s X bassist/vocalist has been somewhat of a hot commodity in rock music circles over the years, lending his talents to such diverse artists as Pearl Jam, Dream Theater, Phil Keaggy, Carmine Appice and his own pet project, Poundhound (which released its Live Bootleg video through Metal Blade Records). But his voice can also be heard on Van Halen Tribute 2000 and the Jimi Hendrix tribute album, In from the Storm, to name a few.

With his latest endeavor, Supershine, Pinnick teams up with guitarist Bruce Franklin and drummer Greg Olsen, both formally of the doom metal band, Trouble. Their self-titled debut features 12 tracks deeply rooted in groove-based ’70s rock, incorporating touches of psychedelia shrouded with ferocious metal outbursts. Pinnick’s gospel-styled, soulful vocals (the most underrated in rock) and deep, rumbling bass lines compliment Franklin’s infinite array of lethal guitar riffs while Olsen anchors the music with solid skinmanship. King’s X timekeeper Jerry Gaskill also makes a guest appearance behind the kit.

Comparisons with King’s X will invariably be drawn with any project Pinnick associates himself. His bass playing and powerful vocals are an integral part of the King’s X sound, so the comparisons are natural, if sometimes unfair. However, Supershine is no “Son of King’s X” record. Where both bands share a penchant for laying down groove-laden rock, Supershine’s heavier, harder-edged sound tips its’ hat to likes of Black Sabbath especially on numbers like “Take Me Away,” “One Night” and “Automatic.” However, the classic rock influence doesn’t end there. Supershine’s cover of the mighty Grand Funk staple, “Shinin’ On” is dead on with Pinnick’s potent pipes pacing Franklin’s frenzied guitar solos.

“Candy Andy Jane” utilizes the opening riff from the Ten Years After classic “I’d Love to Change the World” to great effect and metalicizes it for posterity. The album’s strongest track is it’s closer, the anthemic “Shadows/Light.” Acoustic nuances, atmospheric leads and moody Hammond B-3 organ courtesy of the Galactic Cowboys’ Wally Farkas, give the song a Pink Floyd feel without being derivative.

Supershine will surely appeal to King’s X/Trouble fans, but it shouldn’t be limited to just that audience. And while most projects fail to live up to the hype, this is one that exceeds expectation on a grand scale, confirming that the chemistry between Pinnick and Franklin shines ever so bright. You might just call that a Supershine.  

The 2022 Brutal Planet Records remaster is packaged in jewel case, a 12-page booklet, and the coveted Brutal Planet GoldMax treatment that collector's crave for their treasured albums.  Oh, and every CD contains a limited edition gold-foil-stamped Collector card!  

Take Me Away/Kingdom Come/One Night/I Can't Help You/Shinin' On/Won't Drag Me Down/Automatic/Candy Andy Jane/Love/Going Down/In Mourning/Shadows Light