Orders will not ship from 7/19 to 7/28

PRODIGAL - ELECTRIC EYE (*NEW-RED VINYL, 2020, Retroactive Records) New 2020 Easter Egg C-64 Code + Mastered from Original Analog Tape

Sale price $24.77 Regular price $35.00

  • Includes the original Commodore 64 Code on a new track on side 2
  • Includes a new 2020 Commodore 64 Code on a new track on side 1 
  • Watch this video (nearly a million views) before you read anything else - and you will understand just how special this reissue is.  


 PRODIGAL - ELECTRIC EYE (*NEW-RED VINYL, 2020, Retroactive Records)

Artist: Prodigal
Title: Electric Eye (Legends Remastered)
Record Label: Retroactive Records
Product ID: RRV1528 
Packaging: Vinyl Record - Red with 12x12 lyrics insert
Barcode: 637405139617
Release Date: December 2020

***We strongly encourage all orders to purchase HASSLE FREE INSURANCE during checkout. 

In stock and read to ship now!


“Electric Eye” comes in at a full but furious five minutes in putting the Prodigal creativity on full display, emanating full on emotion as driving guitars take charge (with keyboards playing a backup role) and drummer Dave Workman puts on a literal clinic with his intense timekeeping. Bass and keyboards carry the closing instrumental minute as changing television channels segue in the backdrop. In the end, “Electric Eye” is not so much albums best track as it is my all time favorite from Prodigal.
                                      Angelic Warlord Reviews (Andrew Rockwell)

The brilliant thing about Electric Eye is that it is a classic rock album...those who were blessed enough to have this raw, thoughtful rock come through our lives at that moment in time, those people got it all along.
                                           DW Dunphy (Popdose.com Rock music writer and critic)

With Electric Eye at the peak of the band's powers, you will discover intermittent extra-musical sound effects, occasional electronic vocal processing, and a darker sense of humor. A lyrical undercurrent stressing the ways in which technology and societal pressures dampen humanity's spiritual longing complements the first album. Were Daniel Amos not so smart alecky (and given to new wave at the time) or Mark Heard so seemingly inconsolably forlorn, one could imagine either indulging in the nuanced Wizard Of Oz analogy of "Emerald City" or the titular track's scenario of doomed man cave self-satisfaction.
                          Jamie Lee Rake (CCM Magazine/Phantom Tollbooth.org)

A “Hall of Fame” album that desperately needs to be reissued.
                                               Vision of Grey Magazine (1994)

A mix of stadium rock energy and new music technology that addresses a variety of social issues from a discernibly Christian perspective.
                                                         Cornerstone Magazine (1984)

  • Remastered from the original master tape by Rob Colwell (Bombworks Sound)
  • #20 on Greatest Christian Albums of All Time (2010)
  • #43 on CCM’s 500 Greatest Albums of All Time
  • The title track, “Electric Eye,” addresses the spiritual impoverishment of a society that is increasingly defined by its technology.
  • “Emerald City” uses a Wizard of Oz motif to express the human longing for paradise.
  • “Shout It Out” is a strong cut exhorting Christians to be bold in their evangelistic efforts.
  • “Neon” draws upon a theme presented in the sci-fi film Blade Runner to present one possible outcome of such a development: a hellish world that has become completely driven by its own technological accomplishments.
  • Includes the original Commodore 64 Code on a new track on side 2
  • Includes a new 2020 Commodore 64 Code on a new track on side 1 
  • You will need to lift the needle up manually to play each Easter Egg C-64 code.

Never one’s to rest on the accomplishments of their epic 1982 self-titled release, Prodigal surpassed ridiculous expectations for their sophomore effort with 1984’s Electric Eye.  The album received Best of the Year honors in 1984 by both Contemporary Christian Music magazine and Campus Life Magazine. The album also received national attention for a unique promotional idea: a computer program for a Commodore 64 was mastered into a "stop-groove" at the end of the vinyl record, the first time this had ever been done. The program, if copied to a cassette tape could be loaded via cassette drive into a C-64 computer to reveal a message from the band. The video for the song, "Boxes" won the very first Gospel Music Association Dove Award for music videos ("Best Visual Song"). The music video for the song "Fast Forward" was named Video of the Year.  Yeah, Electric Eye was a big deal!  With their second album, the band shook the fragile foundations of Christian music. The content on Electric Eye is beautifully portrayed on the album cover. We have surrounded ourselves with so much to entertain us and consume our time that the difference between reality and artificial are not just blurred but rather the artificial begins to be more “real.” Note how the actual lightning through the window is faded and bland while the same lightning shown on the television set is vibrant and exciting. This is expressed in different ways on the album along with a host of other topics that are both poignant and eternal. “Scene of the Crime” is the first song on the album and starts with a police siren leading into an aggressive guitar and keyboard driven rock sound akin to Foreigner or Kansas. Lead singer Loyd Boldman’s bombastic baritone is both edgy and clean as needed with nods to Michael Been (The Call) for pure power. Humanity’s guilt is laid to bear within relationships and how we often leave others with wounds that never heal. But the murderous actions are not missed by the judge who sees all as this is pointed out. We can try to run from the pain and suffering we leave in our wake, but cannot escape a righteous judge. Boldman’s vocals at the end of the song place him amongst one the best unheralded rock voices in Christian music. You believe his words because you believe his passion and authenticity.  It was songs like that that set Electric Eye apart in 1984, and why it was ranked #20 on a 2010 list of Greatest Christian Albums of All Time and #43 on CCM’s 500 Greatest Albums of All Time. The 2020 Retroactive Records Legends Remastered Series features the album remastered from the original analog master tape, plus it includes a brand new Commodore 64 code Easter egg created by Robin who runs the Youtube Channel "8-Bit Show And Tell" and Sam from P1XL Games, that gave viewers a chance to see the original Easter egg C-64 code cracked on video! Break out those Commodore 64’s....you get not one, but TWO C-64 codes! For fans of Kansas, Yes, Saga, Foreigner, Styx, Supertramp, Mr. Mister and brilliant, life changing rock and roll!  Be sure to get the 2-CD set of this masterful album, or splurge for all three Prodigal CDs (and the Loyd Boldman 1988 solo CD Sleep Without Dreams) while you can!


Scene Of The Crime
Fast Forward
Just What I Need
Emerald City
Commodore 64 Code (2020 Easter Egg)
Electric Eye
Shout It Out
Commodore 64 Code (Original Easter Egg)

Scene Of The Crime/Fast Forward/Masks/Just What I Need/Emerald City/Commodore 64 Code (2020 Easter Egg)/Electric Eye/Bobby/Shout It Out/Neon/Boxes/Commodore 64 Code (Original Easter Egg)