Orders will not ship from 7/19 to 7/28

STRYKEN - STRYKER: THE EARLY YEARS (*NEW-CD + Collector Card, 2022, Retroactive) elite Pre-Stryken album

Sale price $11.97 Regular price $16.97


STRYKEN - STRYKER: THE EARLY YEARS (*NEW-CD, 2022, Retroactive) elite Pre-Stryken album

  • From the iconic band that released First Strike
  • Includes free Ltd and numbered Collector Card
  • Tracks date from the late 70's to early 80's
  • Limited to just 500 units!
  • 1st time ever album released as a CD!
  • Includes two new bonus tracks for the first time!
  • 6-panel digiwallet with lyrics and band pics
  • Remastered by Rob Colwell (Bombworks Sound)
  • Band authorized special reissue 
  • Exceptional write-up by Doug Van Pelt of Heaven's Metal Magazine



STRYKEN, originally known as STRYKER, was formed in the late 1970’s by Dale and Stephen Streiker in Arizona with a vision that rock music, just like books, radio and TV could be wholesome and uplifting while subtly pointing people to the GOD who made the heavens and the earth.

In 1980, as STRYKER, BIRC Records released 2 of the 50+ songs they had written and released them on a 45 RPM record. The 2 songs, produced by Joe Bidwell, were recorded at Autograph Recording Studios in Tucson, Arizona and were titled “On The Phone” (Stephen) and “As The Rain Goes” (Dale). These songs, at the time, were considered to be in the PUNK/POWER POP or NEW WAVE genre similar to The Cars, Ramones, New York Dolls and The Knack.

Soon thereafter, Joey Knight (Drummer) and David Kurowski (Bass Guitar), both from Tucson, joined STRYKER and now the stage was set to rapidly develop and record new music to share with their growing fan base.

STRYKEN – STRYKER: THE EARLY YEARS album, is an 8 song compilation of their musical work that contains 5 newly released songs, of which 4 have NEVER been released on CD nor MP3 including “Playing On The Radio,” “As The Rain Goes,” “On the Phone,” and “Life Can’t Be The Same” which provides you with a glimpse into how poverty and sacrifice played a positive role in their faith.  Remastered by Bombworks Sound and a full write up from Doug Van Pelt of Heaven's Metal Magazine all come together to ensure fans get everything their collector's hearts desire!  

Often referred to as the “fundamentalists in armor” and playing what it describes as “thunder rock,” Stryken was put together in Arizona in the late seventies by founding members Dale and Steve Streiker initially under the moniker Stryker.  After releasing a single and a four song demo, the two proceeded to place a want ad for a drummer, which led them to a talented timekeeper by the name of Joey Knight.  A move to Austin came about in late 1982, and by the spring of the following year the band recorded a nine song cassette only release entitled Blitzkrieg that sold very well in the Southwest.  By the mid-eighties, however, Stryker started to receive pressure from the Stryper camp about changing its name.  Yes, Stryker rhythms with Stryper, but one important thing to keep in mind is that the name Stryker was trademarked by the band after it formed in the late seventies- a time when the boys in yellow and black were more than likely still in junior high school.  Needless to say, cooler heads prevailed and the band agreed to make a change by switching the last letter in its name from an “r” to an “n”.  Hence, Stryken was officially born.  With a permanent name in place and its line up finalized with the addition of bassist Ezekiel Vade, Stryken went through a complete makeover in its image which saw each member of the group don body armor that is symbolic of the Armor of God as described in Ephesians 6:11.  Stryken soon formed its own label, Chrystal Records, which it used to release a 12” single that included the tracks “Rock On” and “Surprise” in addition to its 1987 full length debut, appropriately entitled, First Strike (which came out only on cassette and red transparent vinyl). 

So, what is the best way to describe “thunder rock”?  Well, according to the band, “thunder rock” is a slower, powerful, driving beat, highlighting on guitars and drums.  I might describe it as a combination of eighties influenced metal and straightforward hard rock certain to appeal to fans of Stryper, Bloodgood, Saint, Messiah Prophet, Whitecross, Motley Crue and Kiss First Strike, upon repeated listen, actually proves itself quite the consistent effort in that its tracks, for the most part, are well constructed and hold up under repeated play.  The album, for example, delivers its share of anthemic hard rockers (“Crush The Head Of Satan” & “Rock On”), a couple of upbeat melodic metal tracks (“One Way” & “State Of Emergency’), a  slower, more driving number (“The Young Men have A Vision”) and a pair of ballads (“The Answer” & “Surprise”).  And the band pulls it off without a hitch, which is a credit to the strength of the songwriting here. 

On the Phone
As the Rain Goes
Playing On the Radio
Need Your Love
Life Can't Be the Same
Right of Way
I'm All Right
It's Over

On the Phone/As the Rain Goes/Playing On the Radio/Need Your Love/Life Can't Be the Same/Right of Way/I'm All Right/It's Over