Click to buy the FLOOD - RIPPED INTO EXILE CD!

KING'S X - MANIC MOONLIGHT + 2 Bonus (*NEW-GOLD DISC CD, 2021, Brutal Planet Records) Elite Remaster - Classic Album!

Sale price $11.97 Regular price $21.97

KING'S X - MANIC MOONLIGHT (*NEW-GOLD DISC CD, 2021, Brutal Planet Records) Elite Remaster - Classic Album

***We strongly encourage you to purchase hassle-free low cost insurance for your order at checkout. It will cover your entire order against damage, not just this item. Insurance does not cover lost packages. 

  • Elite 2021 Remaster by Rob Colwell of Bombworks Sound
  • Gold Disc CD to discourage disc rot and add beauty and elegance
  • Every CD comes with a deluxe foil-stamped collector's card of King's X
  • Expanded 12-page insert with lyrics and additional band pics
  • Gold Disc border on the front cover - but the back of the booklet features the front cover with no Gold border around the outside edges
  • Includes the previously Japan-only two bonus tracks of "Believe" and "Vegetable" extended long versions
  • In the year 2000, King's X came in at #83 on VH1's 100 Greatest Artists of Hard Rock Countdown
  • The band toured this album with Joe Satriani and Dream Theater 


That record (Tape Head), Mr. Bulbous, Manic Moonlight....we...made those records together, wrote together and that's how those records came about.  And that's kind of a nice period for me - to think just the three of us can do that.  They are three of my favorite records.   
          (from King's X: An Oral History)   Jerry Gaskill (King's X drummer)

After the relatively eccentric Please Come Home...Mr. Bulbous, King's X returned with the most confidently organic and groove-based record of their career. Manic Moonlight, the Texas trio's ninth album, is the sound of a band who has vented their demons and come to terms with themselves.  ALLMUSIC.COM

! writes that "all the requisite solid performances, chunky grooves, flashy guitar work and beautifully realized vocal harmonies are here.  

What this album does so well is manage to be so musically captivating, the relatively silly lyrics in some places come as an after thought...the band doesn't lose it's musical prowess with Manic Moonlight.       

The 2001 third album in a trilogy of self-produced albums on Metal Blade Records - the band was tired of chasing the big-time and decided they would not bring in demos, but instead write the album from start to finish AS A BAND.  Manic Moonlight is the result!  King's X has never wanted to be a typical band, and this holds true for their ninth album. The arrangements on Manic Moonlight are progressive and jazzy with clever hooks that might require a few listens to sink in--but after that they become irresistible. There's also more of a funk influence here, with album opener "Believe" (about Doug's struggle for self-acceptance) setting the tone with a fine groove with the song being another track of super-tight riffs stopping and starting in perfect time, over and over again. "Skeptical Winds" explores the style more deeply with touches of R&B and soul, and the heavy bass line coupled with hard-rock crunch on "Vegetable" is classic King's X. The Gold Disc also includes the Japan-only long version bonus track of "Vegetable" in addition to the Japan-only long version bonus track of "Believe." "Static" experiments with dark ambient rhythms and odd samples, becoming a wall of metallic noise and screaming guitars. The wonderful lush harmonies that have been a King's X trademark are present on the melodic "Jenna" and the dreamy, uplifting "False Alarm," which stand strong next to the album's harder moments such as "Yeah" and title track. It's another fine album from this very talented and underrated band. Now the album get's the deluxe Gold Disc treatment with an expanded booklet with lyrics and additional band pics.  And, every CD comes with an exclusive King's X foil-stamped collector's card! 

1 Believe 4:46
2 Manic Moonlight 4:32
3 Yeah 3:40
4 False Alarm 4:36
5 Static 4:29
6 Skeptical Winds 6:51
7 The Other Side 4:49
8 Vegetable 6:27
9 Jenna 5:06
10 Water Ceremony 0:18
11 Vegetable (Long Version) 7:36 BONUS
12 Believe (Long Version) 6:28 BONUS