Orders will not ship from 7/19 to 7/28

FLOTSAM & JETSAM - MY GOD (*NEW-GOLD DISC CD, 2022, Brutal Planet Records)

Sale price $8.97 Regular price $21.97


FLOTSAM & JETSAM - MY GOD (*NEW-GOLD DISC CD, 2022, Brutal Planet Records) 

***We strongly encourage you to purchase hassle-free low cost insurance for your order at checkout. It will cover your entire order against damage, not just this item. 

BPCD1577 FLOTSAM & JETSAM - MY GOD 637405142129

  • Authentically licensed and faithfully reissued
  • Features the elite GOLDMAX CD with superior audio clarity
  • Every CD comes with a FREE Gold Foil-Stamped Collector Card
  • Limited to just 1000 Gold Disc CDs world-wide
  • The original 2001 recording released on Metal Blade Records.
  • Remastered in 2022 by Bombworks Sound's, Rob Colwell (The Metal Round-Table)
  • 16 panel booklet with lyrics and band pics by NoLifeTilMetal's Scott Water
  • Part of the exclusive Metal Icon Series on Brutal Planet Records

Few artists have had the impact of FLOTSAM & JETSAM.  The band put the Power Metal & Thrash crowd on its feet with the 1986 iconic classic, DOOMSDAY and the band never took the foot off the gas - building a legacy of brilliant FULL-ON HEAVY METAL!  Mentioned in the same breath, with hushed reverence as Slayer, Anthrax, Metallica, and Megadeth - Brutal Planet Records brings you elite remasters with all the stuff collector's crave!



This album also marks the return of guitar solos. There are six in the opener and the solo in "Weather To Do" is fantastic. The title track combines everything that is right about this album into a succinct, 5:00+ song.
                                       METAL ARCHIVES REVIEWS

Die-hard fans of the band can buy this one blindly. If you don't know them and you like Metallica, Megadeth or Annihilator, you should try this band and their new record. Other wise, wrong way.
                       METAL REVIEWS

"Dig Me Up to Bury Me" is fast and furious recalling the glory days of thrash metal. "Keep Breathing" slows things down a bit mixing up heavy, doomy riffs with clean, mellower verses. Erik A.K. sounds as good as he ever has, if not better. The rest of the disc follows in like manner with the band creating layers of sound, mixing heavy thrash riffs with clean guitar parts.

Released in 2001 on Metal Blade Records, the band embraces their thrash roots with full force.  Dig Me Up, Camera Eye, Trash, and the title track all re-establish the band as leaders in the modern thrash movement! 

This remastered Gold Disc reissues comes with a foil-stamped trading card, a 16 page booklet, and a GoldMax CD for superior audio clarity.  It is part of the elite Metal Icon Series on Brutal Planet Records.  For fans of early Deliverance, Forbidden, Metal Church!

1 Dig Me Up To Bury Me 5:46
2 Keep Breathing 5:08
3 Nothing To Say 5:18
4 Weather To Do 5:21
5 Camera Eye 3:47
6 Trash 4:34
7 Praise 2:01
8 My God 5:23
9 Learn To Dance 4:26
10 Frustrate 3:27
11 Killing Time 5:27
12 I.A.M.H. 13.41
Violin – Tory Edwards

Flotsam And Jetsam – My God (Remastered Gold Disc & Cassette, Brutal Planet, 2022)

Flots are back in the game that put them on this projectory. Their prior album, Unnatural Selection, was a step towards their thrash metal roots. My God is like the oil change your vehicle has been gasping for to get it screaming down the highway. It is one of the stronger albums they had done in over a decade. There may have been a legitimate fear that the band was going to become another Stone Temple Pilots-type band. But thanks be to all that is sacred, F & J found their way back to writing great songs again.

Flotsam And Jetsam suffered, as I see it, from the 90s invasion of introspective indie rock. They found their foothold in solid fashion with My God. If anything, Flots took what they gleaned from 90s heavier fare music and wrote extremely catchy choruses for this album. 

From the slow fade in of Dig Me Up To Bury Me, the thrash influences tap you on the shoulder to remind you F & J still have it in aces. It’s a nod to No Place For Disgrace. Another in yer face rocker, Weather To Do, brings in a more alt-metal variation while keeping the guitars true to the roots.   

Camera Eye comes in fast and heavy and addresses the absurdity of unnecessary surveillance cameras. Again, not thrash, but really good 90s hybrid metal. The next song, Trash, surprised me; it’s a song that shows what AK is capable of doing with his voice. The last long track on the album entitled I.A.M.N includes an acoustic rendition of Trash, and is very much worthy of hearing if you have the patience to wade through an ambient Hispanic-flavored instrumental piece that precedes it. The acoustic version of Trash accents AK’s versatile voice perfectly. I did not think it belonged on this album, but after repeated listens of the album, it worked its magic. I seriously wish AK would have recorded a whole project of this Southern outlaw balladry.

If you found the album art for My God intriguing, the title track song sheds light on it, connecting religious superiority with politics and war in a thoughtful way:

“My god is the only one
My way is the way
If you don't want to side with me
Your soul will turn to clay
My god is the only one
My way supreme

No one understands your ways
No one will sympathize
We all think you wrap your religion
To keep what's left inside

No one is on your side, no
No one else wants to die

I don't want to say you're out of your head
But I can see right through your mind”

This album has a good amount of variance and deserves multiple listens to be better appreciated. It has been remastered and is available in both gold disc and super cool orange cassette. Make it yours.

--Doug Peterson, Down The Line zine