Click to buy the FLOOD - RIPPED INTO EXILE CD!

MORTAL - FATHOM (*NEW-VINYL 2-LP Set) Retroactive Records

Sale price $35.00 Regular price $49.99

MORTAL - FATHOM (*NEW-VINYL 2-LP Set) Retroactive Records


Album Title: FATHOM

Label: Retroactive Records 

Product ID: RRV1434

Barcode: 0651402979076

Media Format: Double Vinyl LP (Black Vinyl) (2 vinyl set) 300 units pressed

Packaging: Extra-wide Jacket w spine and insert with lyrics + historical write-up

Release Date: January 16, 2018


The band's debut, LUSIS, left fans with a giddy state of excitable frivolity. When Mortal's sophomore album FATHOM released in 1993 eyebrows were raised to the roof and mouths hit the floor open agape with awe. Capturing an avalanche of emotion, sensation, and pure aural brilliance fans were prompted to simultaneously do the ultra-happy dance and wet ourselves. Yes, Fathom IS that special. If you knew what was out at the time during this era for Christian rock then you'd understand how truly ground breaking Mortal really was. While bands such as Tourniquet, Guardian, and Ken Tamplin were tearing up the scene with crunching guitars and powerful vocals, Mortal was blazing new ground with haunting vocals and rhythmic lyrics and an electronic/industrial sound. Their albums had sampling in their songs and that didn't become mainstream until several years later with rap and rock bands. Fathom defined musical innovation with slashy guitars, distorted screams, and heavy grooves that all made for one heck of a ride! With tracks like Rift, Godspeed, and Alive & Awake fans were compelled to get on that ride over and over again (like your favorite roller coaster but with no lines!!!). The 2017/2018 Fathom reissue on Retroactive Records features a complete remaster at the hands of J Powell at Steinhaus for the maximum Fathom ear candy experience. Because of the length of the album it is packaged as a two 12" vinyl record set (2-LP Set) with an insert that includes lyrics and an historic write up by DW Dunphy. It is packaged in an extra wide jacket, and it is a surprise color vinyl (surprise - if we told you what color, we'd have to kill ya). The album was produced by Terry Taylor (Daniel Amos) and Gene Eugene (Adam Again) engineered it. Fathom also includes guest appearances from Jeff Bellew and Mark Salomon (The Crucified/Stavesacre) and Andy Pricket (The Prayer Chain). This is the first time ever for this album to be released on vinyl and it is limited to just 300 copies of this 2-LP Set). For fans of Ministry, Nine Inch Nails, and cutting edge melodic, hook-laden alternative music.


A1 Alive And Awake

A2 Neplusultra

A3 Rift

B1 Jil Sent Me

B2 Ex-Nihilo

B3 Above And Beyond

C1 7

C2 Rainlight

C3 Bright Winds

D1 XiX

D2 Promulgate

D3 Electrify

D4 Godspeed