Click to buy the FLOOD - RIPPED INTO EXILE CD!

THE EXKURSIONS - THE EXKURSIONS (*NEW-BLACK VINYL, 1971/2023, Heavy Christian Psych) Mike Johnson / Remastered Import

Sale price $19.97 Regular price $44.97

Late 60s Chicago Psych Blues Rock band pioneering the Christian rock movement.
Their sole album was released in 1971. Heavy guitar wah-wah fuzz riffs, a must have for fans of early Cream or Jimi Hendrix.

-Officially reissued for the first time on vinyl
-Original artwork
-Pressed on 180 gram vinyl /Greek Import on Twisted Flowers Records
-300 copies black vinyl
-Including exact reproduction of the original lyric insert sheet
-Factory Sealed
-Modern remaster for vinyl

High-octane power rock trio of Mike Johnson, Fyl Jonnzen and Leon Wilson, their custom album absolutely blitzing through eight tunes of heavy blues-influenced material in the vein of Hendrix and Cream. No muffled sounds here the production is top-notch and the guitars shine forth loud and mean, heavily imbrued with 60s psych effects (originally released in 1971). Singer/lead guitarist Johnson gives an exceptional performance; he contributed a number of fine solo albums in the 70s, but none of them cook with near the intensity of this baby. Third Eye is a good example; after starting with some bizarre psycho-babble, the piece breaks into a fierce minute-and-a-half electric guitar jam (recalling Stu Heiss opening solo in Rez Band's White Noise). Dry Ground is another standout, its fast-driving Hendrix groove outfitted with a killer searing guitar lead. Baby You Lied, a love-gone-bad slow blues rocker sounds like one of those lengthy Derek & the Dominoes tracks, with wild stereo separation that I'm sure made many a hippie smile back then. Dual rhythm guitar and leads give the band a fuller sound than most trios. Wah-wah and fuzz effects abound, sometimes together as on the opening CCR-ish Picture Woman. Good solid drum work throughout, too, including a solo opportunity at the beginning of the heavily fuzzed Would You Believe, a smooth piece of soft jazz that Mike also included on his Velvet Prince album. Great psychedelic cover art to match. Says on the back they formed in Chicago in 1968, their sound spawned out of Chicago's own particular blend of jazz, blues and rock. This one delivers in everyway! 

A1        Picture Woman    5:25
A2        Dry Ground    3:49
A3        Baby You Lied    6:03
A4        What Happened To Me    2:37
B1        Third Eye    4:50
B2        You & Me    4:55
B3        It's Been Set Down    4:47
B4        Would You Believe    4:17