Orders will not ship from 7/19 to 7/28

JEFF LOOMIS - PLAINS OF OBLIVION + 2 (*NEW-GOLDMAX CD, 2023, Brutal Planet Records) Nevermore Guitarist Guitar Hero Classic

Sale price $13.97 Regular price $23.98

***We strongly encourage you to purchase hassle-free low cost insurance for your order at checkout. It will cover your entire order against damage, not just this item.


JEFF LOOMIS - PLAINS OF OBLIVION (*NEW-GOLDMAX CD, 2023, Brutal Planet Records) Nevermore guitarist!

  • Nevermore guitarist / Arch Enemy guitarist / Sanctuary guitarist
  • Two exclusive bonus tracks!
  • 95% Metal Archives Review! (Scroll down to read)
  • Authentically licensed 2012 classic album released on Century Media
  • With the coveted Brutal Planet GoldMax Deluxe CD reissue treatment
  • Elite 2022 Remaster by Rob Colwell of Bombworks Sound
  • Gold Disc CD to discourage disc rot and add beauty and elegance
  • Every CD comes with a deluxe foil-stamped collector card of Jeff Loomis
  • Expanded 12-page insert with lyrics and additional band pics
  • Modern classic guitarists to contribute guest solos on here, including Marty Friedman, Chris Poland, and Tony Macalpine

At 16 years of age, Loomis won a guitar competition in Wisconsin, and was auditioned to replace Jeff Young in Megadeth (he was not chosen due to his young age.)  Jeff ended up joining Sanctuary during the tour of the album The Mirror Black. Just after the tour, the band dismantled and he created Nevermore with ex-members Jim Sheppard and Warrel Dane.  As a result of his invaluable contributions to Nevermore's trademark sound, Jeff Loomis has become one of modern Metal's most recognizable guitarists and the source of many of the last decade's best riffs. Taking the classic techniques he learned from listening to legends like Jason Becker and Yngwie Malmsteen as a teen and applying his own ingenuity, he has managed to carve his own niche and create an instantly recognizable style. Plains Of Oblivion is a tour de force display of guitar virtuosity and something Nevermore fans will welcome with open arms. Collector's are treated to a 16-page deluxe booklet housed inside a jewel case, a beautiful GoldMax CD with a Jeff Loomis Ltd Collector Card, and it's all been remastered to perfection by Rob Colwell of Bombworks Sound!  

1 Mercurial (featuring Marty Friedman on guitar)
2 The Ultimatum (featuring Tony MacAlpine on guitar)
3 Escape Velocity
4 Tragedy and Harmony (featuring Christine Rhoades on vocals)
5 Requiem For The Living (featuring Attila Voros on vocals)
6 Continuum Drift (featuring Chris Poland on guitar)
7 Surrender (featuring Ihsahn on vocals)
8 Chosen Time (featuring Christine Rhoades on vocals)
9 Rapture
10 Sibylline Origin
11 Collide (CD only bonus track)
12 Reverie For Eternity (CD only bonus track)

Mercurial/The Ultimatum/Escape Velocity/Tragedy and Harmony/Requiem For The Living/Continuum Drift/Surrender/Chosen Time/Rapture/Sibylline Origin/Collide/Reverie For Eternity

I have been awaiting the release of this lp with almost fervent enthusiasm, which to this extent is quite rare for me nowadays. The reason for such fervour on my behalf is founded on both the absolute brilliance of Jeff`s previous solo lp called Zero Order Phase coupled with his superb work with both Nevermore and Experiment Fear [demo only].

Since I first got into rock and metal music many many moons ago, supreme guitarists have always captivated me regardless of the style, with a few sticking out as just that extra bit special such as Malmsteen, Vinnie Moore etc etc.

Jeff Loomis is already releasing music that is at least as exciting, invigorating as enjoyable as most of his contemporaries. Indeed he has even managed to selflessly managed to secure the talents of some of the modern classic guitarists to contribute guest solos on here, including Marty Friedman, Chris Poland, and Tony Macalpine. This could in theory be a risky tactic, with the possibility that the extremely gifted guests could in theory outshine the main mans contributions, however thankfully this is not the case on here. Jeff`s prodigious talent is not threatened by the inclusion of the previously mentioned three axe masters, although the compositions here are possibly enhanced by the inclusion of their material. All the guests have their own indomitable and individual styles which are very enjoyable and highly impressive in their own rights.

My only very marginal gripe at this early stage of letting this release sink into my soul, is the surprise inclusion of vocals on a few of the tracks. Whilst the vocals of Christine and Ihsahn are cool and certainly impressive in their own right, I`m not totally convinced that they are necessarily positive additions in this text. Maybe I`m initially feeling just a tad old school in my expectations here, where a solo lp should be just that, and album consisting of instrumental compositions. Having said this, I am fully aware that I was still appreciating new and alternate aspects of Zero Order Phase many months after first listening to it, so maybe it`s just a case of becoming attuned and accustomed to a new approach to this style.

The album certainly boasts an excellent heavy and clear production with the guitars and drums really hitting your ears with a powerful clarity requisite for the music contained herein. In fact I have to say that this is probably the most powerfully produced solo guitar album I`ve ever heard. I guess this isn`t too surprising when you consider the very powerful music that Jeff was previously writing in prior band contexts.

I`m going to mark this release as a 95% with 5% deducted for the inclusion of occasional vocals, and even at this early stage, I`ve only had this album for a couple of days, I certainly wouldn`t be surprised if this is ends up as either my release of the year, or if not, then certainly in my top 5. Jeff Loomis` previous lp Zero Order Phase was my overwhelming no1 pick of 2008 - 2009.

Exemplary stuff again from the new[ish] guitar god on the solo album block.