Orders will not ship from 7/19 to 7/28

Tonio K. And 16 Tons Of Monkeys ‎– 16 Tons Of Monkeys: Live (*NEW-CD) Classic Christian Rock!

Regular price $21.80

Tonio K. And 16 Tons Of Monkeys ‎– 16 Tons Of Monkeys: Live (*NEW-CD) Classic Christian Rock!

Gadfly Records is proud to release 16 Tons of Monkeys, a live release from the Austin supergroup of the same name and fronted by Tonio K. It's Tonio's first-ever live release, coming almost 25 years after he first emerged on the scene in the late '70s. In addition to some Tonio K. classics the CD also includes 3 unreleased songs done live and 2 unreleased bonus tracks! This 1992 concert, recorded at Pearl's in Austin, features the ace lineup of Tonio K. (vocals, guitar), Don Harvey (drums), Scott Garber (bass), Reese Wynans (Hammond B-3), Bukka Allen (piano), and Jerry Holmes (guitar). CD folder includes typically excellent liner notes from Senor K.!

Despite receiving massive critical praise for Life in the Foodchain (1978) and Amerika (1980), Tonio K. bounced around from CBS Records, to Arista, to Capitol-EMI (which resulted in the 1983 EP La Bomba), before settling into What?/A&M for his third and fourth albums: Romeo Unchained (1986) and Notes From the Lost Civilization (1988). Since being 'dropped' from A&M;, he has been one of the music industry's most successful songwriters, penning the most played song of 1993 (Love Is, recorded by Vanessa Williams and Brian McKnight), and placing songs with Bonnie Raitt, Aaron Neville, Al Green (from the 'Michael' soundtrack), and many others. A fifth album recorded with an all-star cast (Paul Westerberg, David Hidalgo, Peter Case, Bruce Thomas, and others) was canned by A&M but released by Gadfly Records (Olé) in 1997. A collection of spare tracks and other oddities -- Rodent Weekend '76-'96 (Approximately) -- was released by Gadfly Records in 1998, and Yugoslavia, a CD of tracks recorded in the '90s, was released in 1999. All four of Tonio K. 's earlier full-length albums are available on CD from Gadfly Records.

1 I Handle Snakes
Written-By – Tonio K.
2 You Don't Belong Here
Written-By – Tonio K.
3 Stop The Clock
Written-By – T-Bone Burnett, Tonio K.
4 Time Steps Aside
Written-By – Steve Schiff, Tonio K.
5 The Facts Don't Matter (Just The Feel)
Written-By – John Keller, Tonio K.
6 Stuck
Written-By – Tonio K.
7 Blind And Lucky
Written-By – Rick Neigher, Tonio K.
8 Still Not Over You
Written-By – Reese Wynans, Tonio K.
9 What A Way To Live
Written-By – Tonio K.
10 16 Tons Of Monkeys
Written-By – Steve Schiff, Tonio K.
11 I Don't Like It
Written-By – Tonio K.
12 Where's My Baby?
Written-By – Tonio K.