Orders will not ship from 7/19 to 7/28

XALT - DARK WAR (Retroarchives Edition) (*NEW-CD, 2017 Retroactive Records)

Sale price $8.77 Regular price $14.97



Dark War is an unabashedly "old school" metal record, and for as much as collectors have sought out this near impossible find, this 1988 cassette only album was an independent release put out by a band that was leading a Christian metal movement in Michigan, Ohio and the surrounding areas! The band would not have the support of a label (Pure Metal) until their sophomore release, Under the Ruins. Dark War has consistently been on the the most requested (and bootlegged) Christian Metal reissues list because the songs are nothing less than lumbering beasts with monolithic slabs of rhythm guitar, and hooks that bring to mind 1980s Dio - especially his work with Black Sabbath during their Heaven & Hell era. Its literally impossible to listen to such epic tracks as The Cross, God In A Box, and Dark War and and not imagine how easily Xalt could have become the next MTV sensations right alongside Stryper, Judas Priest, and Dokken. Yes, Dark War is THAT good! And, for almost 30 years its never been officially available in any format but cassette...until now! The official 2017 Retroactive Records, Dark War (Retroarchives Edition) features a complete remaster at the hands of Rob Colwell (Bombworks Sound), as well as 6 previously unreleased bonus demo tracks the band recorded in preparation for their Under the Ruins (1990) release on Pure Metal Records. We packaged this metal masterpiece in a 12 page booklet / jewel case with lyrics, including six pages of detailed liner notes and reflections from Xalt's elite axeman, James Erdman. This 500 unit CD pressing resurrects one of Christian Metal?s greatest moments. Enjoy!


1. Ariel

2. The Cross

3. God In A Box

4. Where Victory Storms

5. Angry Fire

6. Ready For The Fight

7. A Warrior's Honor

8. Looking Down A Loaded Gun

9. Palace Daydream

10. Soldiers In The Mist

11. Dark War

1989 DEMO

12. Under The Ruins

13. Wounded Heart

14. The Kingdom Within

15. Lift Him Up

16. The Fortress

17. Through The Night